Hard Labor is estate 5 in St. Croix’s Prince’s Quarter. Based on appearances on historic maps, the windmill was likely built in the 19th century but did not appear on any historic maps. The windmill tower is in good condition.
Sugar cultivation appears to have arrived late at Hard Labor. The first sugar mill icon appears as an animal mill on the 1799 Oxholm map. The 1920 topographic sheet includes the Hard Labour Mill. The 1856 Parson map and USGS topographic maps make no indications of any structures at Hard Labour.
The mill perched several hundred feet above the valley below has unique attributes. One is an east-facing juice trough, going straight down the hill, and another is its cylindrical rather than conical appearance.
In 1750, ownership attributed to Reimert Haagensen. By 1766 and remaining so through 1791, ownership attributed to Coopers.
McGuire geographic dictionary of the Virgin Islands (p.92) notes mill 150 yards west [of house] and 260 feet higher, on sharp spur of hills.
Photo credits: mill from a distance: Bill Cleveland; mill up close: Steve Cohen