Salt River is estate 2 in St. Croix’s Northside B Quarter. Based on appearances on historic maps, the windmill was likely built in the late 18th century. Salt River Estate was likely named for its proximity to Salt River Bay. The windmill has a unique cone shape & remains in good condition.
Given its proximity to Salt River Bay, Salt River estate has a long settlement history dating back to at least the French period. By 1750, provisions were being grown on the estate. None of the Beck maps indicated any sugar production.
The 1799 Oxholm map indicates a windmill south of the newly christened Oxholm Way, a location similar on the 1856 Parsons map and the USGS topographic maps. McGuire geographic dictionary of the Virgin Islands (p.172) notes the top of the old milltower at 160 feet elevation.
The annotated Beck maps all attribute ownership to the Catholic Church which may help explain the genesis of the place name Kirkegaard hill, translated as Churchyard Hill or Cemetery Hill. By 1790, ownership transitioned to McEvoy.